“Praise Jesus that our exam is moved!”

“Praise Jesus that our exam is moved,” says one classmate about our Cardiac Rehab class, a 500 level course. Praise Jesus indeed!

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.

Matthew 21:22

A prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

James 5:16

These verses are not valid excuses to not prepare for my exam, but regardless of what area in our lives, “if you don’t ask, you don’t get.” I was always encouraged with this phrase when I was overwhelmed or stressed out about making clear my thoughts. With this phrase, I have pushed forward to simply “ask” and I knew that the worst that could happen was that ‘it’ did not happen. What is asked in prayer must be made in humble submission and made in harmony with the laws and will of God. If it is in God’s will and you simply ask, you will receive.

Two occurrences happened this past week when I asked and I received:

One instance was that I wanted to ask my boss (head strength coach)  if I could stop coming to one of my shifts. I had stress over making such a bold request. But I did it, I composed an email asking for permission, explained my reasons and prayed. I quickly received a response of her apologizing for not telling me sooner that I did not have to appear to that shift. Further in her email, she freely volunteered herself as a reference for future job applications. I was completely taken aback by this. I originally asked a simple request and in return received something of greater value. The care given to me by the head coach was above and beyond I could imagine. If I did not ask, I would not get. But, I asked and I got even more than I asked for.

Leaving class a week before the exam, I became overwhelmed over the course material, which was dense and demanded undivided attention. The  exam is based on the assessment of EKG’s, which to me, looked like jagged lines created by a kindergartner. I was utterly confused.

In class, our professor proposed an option of moving the exam date from Thursday to the next class meeting (Tuesday of the next week), which would give the class an extra weekend to absorb the information. A few of my more vocal classmates urged him to keep it on the original date, whereas I wished it would be moved. Again, if you don’t ask, you don’t get. I emailed my professor, asked if it would be possible to have an anonymous vote for the exam date and prayed to God to grant me peace. I accepted either exam date as a possibility and surrendered the results to God. My professor’s response turned into a class vote and the result was to move the exam to Tuesday!

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.

Matthew 7:7

There is one thing I know for sure about asking. If you ask Christ to come into your life, He will. It is never a maybe or a no. If you are humble and submit yourself to Him, He will answer your prayer and the results will be better than you could ever imagine! The results are: eternal life  with Christ in a world where there is no more sorrow, tears, pain or sin. How is that for throwing open the floodgates of Heaven?

Thank You Lord for answering small prayers and blessing me beyond what I originally asked for. I also thank You for answering the greatest prayer and desire of my heart of all- that You would reign on the throne of my life. Amen.

**Update: My professor said “thank you for your email” to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

