Project Restoration

I just came back to Syracuse, today, after a very long and as restful as possible Thanksgiving break. I always find it ironic that breaks from school are the least spiritually renewing times. You would think that with all the free time you have, that you’d be spending a majority of it with the Lord. But time and time after again, I hear people say “that summer was so spiritually dry.” They have all this time in the world, but spend almost none of it with the Lord. We (myself included) are constantly distracted by the world– the social medias, television screen, phone screen–  and yet we don’t even bother making the switch to something more nourishing such as reading the Bible, praying or listening to a sermon. Americans LOVE eating chips and ice cream, but switching over to carrots and celery when given the chance is seldom.

My dad and I drove back to Syracuse this morning, and on the way he straight up asked how my spiritual life was going. I always looked forward to these car rides with my dad, but for some reason I wanted to run far away from this conversation. I gave a curt answer and fell asleep.

When we drive back to school on Sundays, we always stop at a church along the way. We have only been to this one church in Binghamton once or twice, but decided we would attend that service this morning.

We walked into the service half an hour late, but just in time to hear the pastor preach.

I know your works, your toil and your patient endurance, and how you cannot bear with those who are evil, but have tested those who call themselves apostles and are not, and found them to be false. I know you are enduring patiently and bearing up for my name’s sake, and you have not grown weary. But I have this against you, that you have abandoned the love you had at first. Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first.

Revelation 2:3-5

This past break and even these past few weeks have felt like I have abandoned my first love — Jesus. My prayer life has been thoughts that fade in and fade out of my head instead of a deep talk with my Heavenly Father. I have not been spending time with my first love. I had forgotten how and why I loved Him.

When my dad dropped me off he told me to get into the Word and pray before I became distracted with everything else in life including school work. “Be good and love the Lord,” he always says as I hugged him goodbye.

And so I did.

I opened the Bible to this passage:

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Restore to me the joy of Your salvation
And sustain me with a willing spirit.

Psalm 51:10-12

It reminded me of the song by Keith Green:

Create in me a clean heart, oh God
And renew a right spirit within me.
Create in me a clean heart, oh God,
And renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from thy presence oh Lord,
And take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.
Restore unto me, the joy of Thy Salvation,
And renew a right spirit within me.

This I sang 2x with closed eyes. Tears began to formulate in my eyes and slowly fall on my cheeks.

Today, Sunday, November 27th, 2016, I am starting Project Restoration.

I am praying for a renewed spirit within me. For God to restore unto me the joy of His Salvation that I had before. I pray that I will remember my first love, Christ’s love. That I will make time for Him and quit the excuses.

Leave a Reply

