Being Content & Having a Heart of Servitude

Recently, I had an interview (more of a check-up phone call) with the Camp Director of CCA, a Christian camp that I served at this past summer. I knew that it would be a relaxed phone call, but I also expected a few spiritual questions including but not limited to: How is your spiritual life? What has God been teaching you? What does your devotions look like?

Self-reflection was (and still is) key in answering these questions.

This post is a reflection of what God has been teaching me and how He is helping me to mature in my faith.

To be put quite bluntly, working at an AMC theatre is extremely exhausting. I have continued to discover the disrespect and disregard of the service that the crew members try hard to offer their guests. Along with inconsiderate behavior from guests, I have uncovered my discontent towards my position in the company.

I often find myself discouraged when reflecting on the two positions I have secured recently. Selfishly, I have come to believe that I am “better than this job(s) / above this job(s)” and that I am “overqualified.” My reflections have revealed entitlement and idolatry (of money and “success) in my heart. Dropping to a minimum wage job after earning over two dollars more in past jobs and obtaining yet ANOTHER unpaid internship has made me bitter and ungrateful.

Through sermons, prayer, and devotions, the Holy Spirit convicted me of my pride and softened my heart of stone. After an especially revealing sermon, I desired a heart of contentment (being okay with what I have and where I am because He has a purpose for me) and servitude (choosing to love and put others before myself even when I don’t “feel” like it).

*** Just after posting this blog, my friend snapchatted me a picture of a Bible verse. I thought I would share it because of its relevancy to this blog post: ***

Do Not Boast of Tomorrow

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business, and make a profit.” You do not even know what will happen tomorrow! What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord is willing, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your proud intentions. All such boasting is evil. Therefore, whoever knows the right thing to do, yet fails to do it, is guilty of sin.

James 4:13-17

One of my favorite quotes is from Martin Luther King Jr. whom once said:

If a man is called to be a streetsweeper, he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music, or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, here lived a great streetsweeper who did his job well.

In Revelations, Jesus repeats, “I know your deeds…” Like undercover boss, Jesus is always watching to see if his managers and employees are completing the tasks they were given. We must constantly ask ourselves if we are being good stewards on this earth. Jesus may come back any moment… have we been hard-working, enduring and persevering (Revelations 2)?

The fruit of my labor has been slowly uncovered at my AMC job. Within the first few shifts, I spoke to my co-workers about faith and invited them to my church, which is “coincidentally” held in the same building that AMC theatre is held in. To my wonderful surprise (like… bouncing-up-and-down-on-the-inside-type-of-surprise-and-happiness), my one co-worker Mike joined me at the 9am Sunday service (after working until 12:45a at the theatre Saturday night). Walking with him out the church, he expressed appreciation for the service and welcomed the idea of coming again for the rest of the series. 

But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ! Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast and immovable. Always excel in the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

1 Corinthians 15:57-58

Leave a Reply

